AAMA Congratulates Winners at the 78th Annual Conference Awards Banquet

The American Architectural Manufacturers Association (AAMA) recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the 78th Annual Conference Awards Banquet in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. Award presenters noted the importance of these member contributions as they serve to further the industry as a whole.

Outstanding Member Award – Kim Flanary (Milgard)

Kim Flanary, engineering director for Milgard (Tacoma, Wash.), was named Outstanding Member, as presented by the previous year’s award winner, Steve Fronek (Apogee Enterprises/Wausau Window and Wall Systems; Wausau, Wis.).

The Outstanding Member Award is given to an individual who has distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of AAMA and the industry as a whole.

Flanary, a current chairman of the AAMA Board of Directors (2013-14), maintains 49 active committee and task group memberships, bringing the total to 83 during his many years of service.

“He deserves it!” says Rod Hershberger (PGT Industries, N. Venice, Fla.). “He is involved and has his fingerprints everywhere at AAMA.”

Chairman’s AwardKawneer

Kawneer was given the 2015 Chairman’s Award, which is given to an AAMA member company by the current or outgoing AAMA chairman of the board. Kawneer (Norcross, Ga.) was selected for distinguishing itself to AAMA during the past two years, with outstanding commitment and dedicated support to the association and the fenestration industry.

“They emphasize the next generation of sustainable buildings by focusing on innovative market solutions like high thermal performance, hurricane resistance and blast mitigation,” says Flanary.

Architectural Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Doug Holmberg (Apogee Enterprises/Wausau Window and Wall Systems)

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Group.

Holmberg currently is involved in the work of 37 AAMA committees and task groups spanning subject matter ranging from security hazard mitigation to technical matters.

Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Joe Hayden (Pella)

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Residential Products Group.

“Joe truly cares for the fenestration industry. It shows in his dedication to AAMA, the National Fenestration Rating Council and his work at Pella,” says Ruark.

Hayden currently serves on 52 committees and task groups.

“I am lucky to have him on my team,” said Kevin Gaul, director of industry and regulatory affairs (Pella). “He is very deserving of this award.”

Marketing Distinguished Service Award – Terry Abels (Chelsea Building Products)

The Marketing Distinguished Service Award was presented to Gary Hartman, national accounts manager at Chelsea Building Products (Oakmont, Pa.), on behalf of Terry Abels, vice president of sales and marketing. The award was presented by Scott Condreay, senior manufacturing engineer for Sapa Extrusions Inc. (Moon Township, Pa.), recipient of last year’s award.

This award is presented to acknowledge a single individual who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing activities for the association.

Abels has been active in 33 committees, councils and task groups. He facilitates the Marketing Forum and is co-chair of the Tactical Marketing Plan Task Group and also serves as the Southeast Region representative to the Marketing Steering Committee.

“Terry has been a tireless champion on behalf of marketing interests and AAMA,” says Condreay. “He has been a good mentor in welcoming newcomers to the organization. He stimulates new ideas and new ways of thinking and doing business. We appreciate his contributions.”

Additional Recognition

Also during the Awards Banquet, AAMA’s meetings manager Florence Nicolici was recognized for her years of service. She will mark 30 years at AAMA this fall.

Be the first to comment on "AAMA Congratulates Winners at the 78th Annual Conference Awards Banquet"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: