ASID National Awards Recipients Are Announced

The American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) announces the recipients of its 2016 ASID National Awards. Every year, ASID honors those who advance the interior design profession and, in the process, demonstrate and celebrate the power of design to positively change people’s lives. The National Awards represent the highest level of professional recognition bestowed by the Society on individuals and organizations.

“Each year as part of the society’s mission, we support and recognize leading visionaries who continually push boundaries to demonstrate the impact of design,” says ASID CEO Randy Fiser. “The 2016 ASID National Award winners are no exception: true visionaries whose accomplishments inspire and teach us about what can be done to make a difference. We are proud to honor them.”

“This year’s recipients include Rachelle Schoessler Lynn, an interior designer who represents excellence in the profession at all levels, and Dr. Caren Martin, whose unwavering commitment to elevate the profession knows no limits,” says Sandy Gordon, ASID National Chair. “I am so pleased we will come together as an industry to celebrate their accomplishments”

Winners include:

    Designer of Distinction – Rachelle Schoessler Lynn, FASID, CID, LEED Fellow
    Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit – Caren S. Martin, Ph.D., CID, FASID
    Design for Humanity – Dwell with Dignity
    Design Innovation – Stacklab + Rebart

Gordon continues: “The 2016 awards also showcase an organization doing exceptional work with homeless individuals and families to provide complete home interiors that are safe, functional, and beautiful, along with a partnership between two Canadian firms that worked together to create an innovative design with reused materials from a demolished bridge. Together, these award winners demonstrate the transformative effect design has on individuals and the spaces where they live, work, play and heal.”

Designer of Distinction – Rachelle Schoessler Lynn, FASID, CID, LEED Fellow
The Designer of Distinction award honors an ASID professional member who, over the course of his or her interior design career, has established a body of superior work demonstrating creativity, excellence, and innovation. This is the premier award for personal achievement and social consciousness in the interior design field.

Rachelle Schoessler Lynn was named an ASID Designer of Distinction in honor of her great passion for the practice and profession of interior design. She has held various positions, from Director – Workplace Studio at LHB to her current position as Senior Associate at MSR. She is a national leader in sustainable design innovation. Leading interdisciplinary project teams through an integrative process, she encourages sustainable design thinking from project conception through building occupancy. Examples of her work in this area include the Phillips Green Institute (a LEED pilot project), Norman Pointe II (the first LEED-certified project in Minnesota), the Red Stag Supperclub (the state’s first LEED-certified restaurant), and The Weidt Group’s office (certified LEED EBOM Platinum).

Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit – Caren S. Martin, Ph.D., CID, FASID
The Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit award pays tribute to the accomplishments of McClelland, an ardent advocate for professional recognition, who was the first woman president of the American Institute of Decorators (now ASID) from 1941-44. First presented in 2011, the award honors an individual, organization, manufacturer, or research team for outstanding support of the interior design profession.

With more than 20 years of tireless advocacy for the interior design profession, Caren S. Martin serves as a tenured associate professor of interior design, has served on the Minnesota Interior Design Legislative Action Committee, and has been the interior design representative on the state’s licensing board. Dr. Martin has co-authored three Interior Design Body of Knowledge studies, all of which support the professionalization of interior design.

Design for Humanity – Dwell with Dignity
The Design for Humanity award celebrates an individual or institution for contributions toward improving the human experience through environmentally-friendly and health-focused interior design projects or activities that demonstrate far-reaching impact.

Dwell with Dignity (DWD) works on having a positive impact on the lives of poverty-stricken families; they have given many homeless individuals hope and a sense of self-sufficiency. DWD leverages local volunteers and donors from the design community to furnish homes with donated furniture, art, bedding, kitchen supplies, and food. They also partner with agencies that provide distressed families counseling, training, and support.

Design Innovation – Stacklab + Rebart
The Design Innovation award recognizes an individual, institution, manufacturer, or a research team for producing an innovative project or body of work that contributes significantly to advancing the field of interior design.

Partnering firms Stacklab and Rebart procured two tonnes of rebar from the former Garrison Bridge during its demolition in early 2015 and created a limited series of 102 castings. In keeping with their focus on material and process innovation, the Garrison stool was derived using state-of-the-art digital design and fabrication technology, optimizing it to be both light and strong, an embodiment of the firms’ commitment to innovative approaches to sustainability and efficiency.

Award winners are selected annually by a panel of judges comprised of professional members, fellows, and representatives of the design community. This year’s prestigious panel of judges included: Bob Beck, publisher, officeinsight; Ellen Fisher, ASID, vice president for academic affairs and dean of the New York School of Interior Design; Christopher M. Good, ASID, NCIDQ, LEED AP, creative director, One Workplace; and Jon Strassner, vice president of sales, Teknion Studio.

The ASID National Award winners will be honored at Celebration, the Society’s Annual Gala, July 16, 2016, in Minneapolis, and featured in the summer issue of ASID ICON magazine.

Be the first to comment on "ASID National Awards Recipients Are Announced"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: