SBIC Appoints Jury for Beyond Green Awards

The National Institute of Building Sciences Sustainable Buildings Industry Council (SBIC) has announced the appointment of Illya Azaroff, Teresa Rainey and David Underwood to serve as the jury for the 2016 Beyond Green High-Performance Building and Community Awards.

“I’m pleased to welcome the 2016 Beyond Green Awards jury,” states Institute President Henry L. Green, Hon. AIA. “They each bring unique backgrounds and experiences that will help them to select those entries that best merit recognition. I thank the jurors for their participation and look forward to congratulating the winners at the Beyond Green Awards Luncheon in January.”

The Beyond Green High-Performance Building and Community Awards highlight initiatives that shape, inform and catalyze the high-performance planning, design, construction and operations processes. The jury is responsible for selecting those buildings, programs and innovations that exemplify the eight design objectives of high performance.

Illya Azaroff, AIA is founding principal at +LAB architect PLLC and an associate professor at the New York City College of Technology (CUNY), where he teaches sustainability. Azaroff is a technical advisor to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response, informing the National Disaster Recovery Framework, and teaches at the National Disaster Training Preparedness Center. He worked on the New York City Department of City Planning Housing Retrofit Guidelines, the Federal Alliance for Safe Housing (FLASH) Resilient Housing Guidelines, the Enterprise Community Partners Multi-Family Resilient Strategies and was as a subject matter expert for the Rockefeller Foundation 100 Resilient Cities. He sits on the American Institute of Architects (AIA) National Strategic Council, won the (AIA) National Young Architect Award and, is founder of the AIA-NY Design for Risk and Reconstruction and the AIA Regional Recovery Working Group, receiving the 2015 Component Excellence Award.

Teresa Rainey is director of High Performance Design at EYP, where she integrates technical tools with sustainable strategies to inform a building’s design to achieve high-performance goals. Her ability to bridge architecture and engineering facilitates early exploration of design opportunities. Rainey is a licensed professional engineer with over 25 years of experience in the design of heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) systems for all building types including federal, commercial, museum and institutional. A LEED Fellow, she is actively involved with advancing green buildings through her work as an ASHRAE Standard 189.1 committee member, General Services Administration Design Excellence Peer Reviewer and industry partnerships to guide research and development of sustainable building technologies.

David Underwood, P.Eng., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, CPMP, is a past president of ASHRAE. He founded Isotherm Engineering Ltd., a heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration (HVAC&R) design-build enterprise in Ontario, Canada. He has held all executive positions on the Ontario Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Contractors Association (ORAC) Board; sat on the CSA B52 Committee on Mechanical Refrigeration, the advisory committee that assisted the Ontario government in developing refrigeration regulations; and coauthored a trade refrigeration safety manual and served on an advisory committee for the refrigeration trade in Ontario. As a federal committee member, he helped write the Building Science and Plumbing section of Canada’s 2015 Model National Building Code (MNBC). For ASHRAE, Underwood served as president-elect, treasurer, director-at-large and two terms as vice president; is a Distinguished Lecturer; and member of Technical Committee 7.2, HVAC&R Construction & Design Build Technologies, and the Building Performance Alliance Ad Hoc Committee. He has an Exceptional Service Award, Distinguished Service Award and the William J. Collins Research Promotion Award.

Azaroff, Rainey and Underwood will select the winners of the 2016 Beyond Green Awards from all of the entries submitted. The 2016 award categories include: High-Performance Buildings; High-Performance Attributes and Systems; High-Performance Initiatives; and Innovations for High-Performance Buildings and Communities; as well as the Greg Franta Memorial Award for an individual’s outstanding contributions to high-performance, sustainable building design and construction.

SBIC will recognize the 2016 award winners on Thursday, Jan. 12, 2017, during the Beyond Green Awards Luncheon. The luncheon is part of a series of events taking place during Building Innovation 2017—The National Institute of Building Sciences Annual Conference and Expo, January 9-12, at the Mandarin Oriental, Washington, D.C.

Be the first to comment on "SBIC Appoints Jury for Beyond Green Awards"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: