BIA Announces Extension of Entry Deadline for Brick in Architecture Awards

Architectural and design firms have until Monday, May 7, to enter the 2018 Brick in Architecture Awards, an architectural design competition featuring fired-clay brick. Entries must be submitted online by May 7.
The Brick Industry Association (BIA) annual awards honor innovative and sustainable architecture that incorporate clay brick products as the predominant exterior building or paving material.

“Winning a 2016 Best of Class Brick in Architecture Award for IS 230Q was a great marketing tool for our firm,” says Alyson Dunn, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, John Ciardullo P.C. “The recognition of our project gave us national exposure and showcased our architectural design vocabulary to prospective clients.”

Best in Class winners will receive national recognition through a Brick in Architecture insert in the December 2018 issue of Architect magazine. Other winners will be included in the insert, Brick News Online, a national press release and featured in the BIA online Photo Gallery.

Architectural and design firms may enter projects completed since Jan. 1, 2013, in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent), including face or hollow brick; building brick; thin brick; paving brick; glazed brick; structural glazed facing tile; new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these units and more.

Entries must be submitted online in one or more of these categories:

  • Commercial
  • Education – K-12
  • Education – Colleges & Universities, includes residence halls and academic/administrative buildings
  • Residential – Single Family
  • Residential – Multi-Family
  • Paving & Landscape Projects

Projects that have been renovated or restored should be submitted in the category they fit best; additions and renovations/restorations must use at least 50 percent new clay brick products on the building.

Projects will be judged by a jury of peers. The winners will be announced in June, Best in Class, Gold, Silver and Bronze. For information or questions, contact Tricia Mauer at [email protected].

Be the first to comment on "BIA Announces Extension of Entry Deadline for Brick in Architecture Awards"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: