NEMA Announces Winners of Annual Awards

The National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) announced the winners of its annual awards during the association’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

The association presented David J. FitzGibbon, ILSCO vice chairman and CEO, with its Bernard H. Falk Award, which is given annually to an individual who has made a difference in the industries that NEMA serves. As a former member and past chairman of the NEMA Board of Governors, FitzGibbon oversaw the transformation of NEMA from a technical standards development organization to a successful advocacy organization for energy legislation, tax incentives and resilient electric grid. In addition to serving on the NEMA Board of Governors for 12 years, FitzGibbon has been on the boards of Hammond Power Solutions Inc. and ILSCO Corp. He has held active memberships in the Industry Data Exchange Association, National Association of Electrical Distributors and Electrical Manufacturers Club.

Keith Cook, Philips Lighting, and Elaine Thompson, Allied Tube & Conduit, each received a Kite & Key Award, which recognizes individuals who have advanced the interest of the electroindustry through active and sustained involvement in NEMA activities.

Cook, who recently retired from Philips Lighting as vice president, Technology Policy and Standards, demonstrated exceptional leadership for the lighting industry and NEMA. As chairman of the Next Generation Lighting Industry Alliance, the NEMA Light Sources Section and the Organic LED Coalition, he promoted lighting systems in energy policy; provided expertise on Capitol Hill on energy policy, budgets, DOE funding and tax policy; and facilitated NEMA relationships with a wide range of government and non-governmental organizations to promote intelligent building systems.

Thompson, who has been with Allied Tube & Conduit since 1993, has acted as a leader in NEMA Codes and Standards activities for more than 15 years, including chairing the Steel Conduit/Electrical Metallic Tubing Section and the High Performance Building Council Codes & Standards Committee. Other committee work includes membership on the NEMA/UL Policy Committee, the NEMA/CSA Policy Committee and the Section Affairs Committee. Her involvement with other professional associations includes Underwriters Laboratories, NFPA, and the National Electrical Code, CSA, CANENA, ANSI, ASTM, IAEI and the Steel Tube Institute of North America.

Finally, Boltswitch President James Erickson accepted NEMA’s inaugural Illuminations Award for Business Innovation on behalf of his company. Boltswitch has demonstrated success through entrepreneurial growth, advanced technology and pioneered innovation. A visionary in the switch industry since 1953, Boltswitch Inc. designs and manufactures bolted pressure contact switches and other products for the electrical industry. Its many innovations include the standardized footprint for switches rated 800 through 3,000 amperes and a patent for a clear face barrier. Erickson has been active in the NEMA Low Voltage Distribution Equipment Section for 30 years, having served on its executive committee and demonstrated leadership in multiple LVDE technical committees and task groups.

Be the first to comment on "NEMA Announces Winners of Annual Awards"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: